Zarzuela and Other Lost Works, A

From Wind Repertory Project
Jason Thorpe Buchanan

Jason Thorpe Buchanan

General Info

Year: 2007
Duration: c. 8:30
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Melos Music
Cost: Score & Parts - $69.95   |   Score and Parts (PDF) - $47.95


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Tuba I-II
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Cabasa
  • Congas
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Guiro
  • Glockenspiel
  • Hi-Hat
  • Sizzle Cymbal
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Toms
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells (Chimes)
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes

Program Notes

A Zarzuela and Other Lost Works for Wind Ensemble by Jason Thorpe Buchanan was written between June and October 2007. A first attempt at writing for large instrumental ensemble, with the encouragement of Dr. Edward Harris of the San José State University Wind Ensemble, I was able to finish a first draft and have it read by his ensemble in March of 2008. Later, with the knowledge I had gained from this experience and the support of Maestro Takayoshi "Tad" Suzuki, I completed a final revision and re-orchestration in October of 2008 for a premiere performance in Tokyo, June 2009 by the Tad Wind Symphony.

Lost Works refers to how the piece is constructed, utilizing thematic material and textures from various early sketches of chamber music I had written. These sketches were lost in the sense that they never really found a place in the music I was writing at that time. In the summer of 2007, I had been approached to write a chamber opera reminiscent of a zarzuela, which is a form of Spanish opera or musical theatre. After writing much of the principal harmonic and melodic material, the chamber opera project fell through and I was left with a number of rough sketches. These were the basis for two of the large sections, my intention being to make a unified work from several parts that were lost. The original text also covers similar themes: a woman is left by her husband and is awaiting his return, but without knowing his whereabouts or the purpose of his journey. She struggles to control her own emotions and fears, pleading with shepherds and creatures of the forest to help bring him back to her safely. Eventually, she embarks on a journey of her own as she transcends time and space to meet with him once again. Although this work is not programmatic, much of the musical material evokes a Spanish mysticism present in the original text.

- Program Note from composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • TAD Wind Symphony (Tokyo, Japan) (Takayoshi Suzuki, conductor) - 11 June 2009

Works for Winds by This Composer