From Wind Repertory Project
Paul Creston

Paul Creston

This work bears the designation Opus 40.

General Info

Year: 1947 / 1949
Duration: c. 9:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: G.Schirmer
Cost: Score and Parts - Rental   |   Score Only - $7.50


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Composed especially for the University of Michigan Band Series and completed in December, 1947. Despite the title, Zanoni is an abstract tone-poem without any programmatic allusions whatsoever; any resemblance to the story or character of Lord Bulwer-Lytton's book is purely coincidental. This work is in large ternary form; after a majestic introduction, the "A" section is introduced: a flowing melody in the solo cornet above a ground bass in the tubas. The ground bass is soon transferred to the upper register in chordal structure, and later to the middle portion of the texture. After a minor climax, a short bridge passage leads to the "B" section (Moderately fast), a melody in 2/4 with an accompanying figuration in 3/8 (by means of regular-subdivision-overlapping: 4 groups of 3/8 against 3 groups of 4/8 of 2/4.) The return to the "A" section presents the original ground bass in chordal structure and in augmentation, with great power and majesty.

- Program Note from Lawrence University Wind Ensemble


State Ratings

  • Pennsylvania: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer