Yunfei Li

From Wind Repertory Project
Yunfei Li


YunFei Li (b. 28 July 1992, China) is a Chinese composer and student studying [2021] in the United States.

Ms. Li is currently pursuing her doctorate in music composition at The University of Missouri-Kansas City Conservatory, where she studies composition with Chen Yi, Zhou Long, Yotam Haber, and Paul Rudy. Yunfei earned an M.M. in composition from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro, where she studied with Mark Engebretson, Alejandro Rutty, and Lisa Bielawa. She previously earned a B.A. in electronic music production from Central Conservatory of Music in Beijing.

Yunfei Li's composition includes solo instrumental, chamber ensembles, large ensembles, digital and mix media, and film. Her music has been played by Transient Canvas, Red Clay Saxophone Quartet, Domino Ensemble, Quintet Sirocco, Duo Entre-nous, Plaza Winds, Hub New Music, Splice Ensemble, Greensboro Symphony Orchestra and UMKC Wind Symphony. Her music has been played at Atlantic Music Festival, New Music on the Bayou, Sewanee WinterFest, Northwester University-New Music Conference and Festival, The Walden School, Arts Letters & Numbers, North Star Music Festival, and Turn Up Festival.

She has won a composition prize from MUSICACOUSTICA-Beijing International Electronic Music Composition Competition in 2015. She has also received an award from the Denver International Electronic Music Composition Competition in 2018.

Works for Winds


  • Yunfei Li, personal correspondence, October 2021
  • Yunfei Li website Accessed 20 October 2021