Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Yukiko Nishimura

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Yukiko Nishimura


Yukiko Nishimura (b. 1967, Japan) is a Japanese composer and pianist.

Nishimura graduated from the Tokyo National University of Fine Arts and Music in 1990. One year later, she began graduate study with Alfred Reed at the University of Miami. In 1993 she went to the Manhattan School of Music for further study. She has studied composition with Atsutada Otaka, Dr. Alfred Reed, Dr. Richard Danielpour, and Giampaolo Bracali. She studied piano with Ivan Davis and Dr. Sara Davis Buechner. In 1994 she returned to Japan. Since 1996, she has given concerts consisting entirely of her own music in Japan.

Ms. Nishimura has received numerous commissions and has composed for piano, marimba, percussion, chamber music, band music, music for string instruments and orchestra. She has also been active as a pianist and an arranger. Her composition Bright Moon won special mention at the 15th and 26th International Competitions for Original Compositions for Band, held in Corciano, Italy. She also won the sixth Aoyama Award; and received second prize at the concerto competition at University of Miami as a pianist.

In 2005, she was commissioned to compose music for the silent film Edison’s 1910 Frankenstein for string quartet which was premiered in Gettysburg College in Pennsylvania by Covington String Quartet. The music for the silent film The Water Magician directed by Kenji Mizoguchi in 1933 was premiered in 2007. In 2010, a theatrical work Fantasy of Kenji based on the stories by Kenji Miyazawa was premiered. In 2014, she collaborated with Noh play, which is Japanese traditional theater work, as a composer and a pianist.

Works for Winds