Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Yotam Haber

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Yotam Haber


Yotam Haber (b. 27 October 1976, Holland) is an Israeli composer, pianist and educator living in the United States.

Dr. Haber grew up in Israel, Nigeria and Milwaukee. He received BM in music composition with highest honors from Indiana University in 1997, and a DMA in music composition from Cornell University in 2004. He studied with Steven Stucky and Roberto Sierra.

He was on the piano and composition faculty at Concordia College Conservatory, The Virginia Kock Endowed Associate Professor of Music at the University of New Orleans; artistic director of the MATA Music Festival for Young Composers, and associate professor of music, University of Missouri Kansas City Conservatory, since 2019

He is the recipient of the 2021 Benjamin Danks Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters (the highest prize awarded that year), a 2017 Koussevitzky Commission, a 2013 Fromm Music Foundation commission, a 2013 NYFA award, the 2007 Rome Prize and a 2005 John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship. He has received grants and fellowships from the MAP Fund (2016), New Music USA (2011, the New York Foundation for the Arts (2013), the Jerome Foundation (2008, the Bellagio Rockefeller Foundation (2011), Yaddo, Bogliasco, MacDowell Colony, the Hermitage, ASCAP, and the Copland House.

Recent commissions include works for Pritzker Prize-winning architect Peter Zumthor; FLUX Quartet, JACK Quartet, Cantori New York, the Tel Aviv-based Meitar Ensemble, and the Berlin-based Quartet New Generation.

Current projects include New Water Music, an interactive work (2017) for the Louisiana Philharmonic and community musicians to be performed from boats and barges along the waterways of New Orleans.

Works for Winds