From Wind Repertory Project
William Owens

William Owens

Subtitle: The Legend of Drowning Bear

General Info

Year: 2017
Duration: c. 3:00
Difficulty: II-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: FJH Publishers
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $55.00; (digital) - $55.00   |   Score Only (print) - $6.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Trombone I-II
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bar Chimes
  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Claves
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Rainstick
  • Slapstick
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tom-tom
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Yonaguska (Drowning Bear) was a Cherokee chief known for peacefully resisting the United States' attempts to relocate the Oconaluftee Cherokee in North Carolina to the Oklahoma Territory in contravention of the Treaty of 1819. His work resulted in the Oconaluftee being recognized as citizens of North Carolina. Yonaguska is also known for fighting the detrimental effects of whiskey on his people through temperance reform policies. Mount Yonaguska in west North Carolina is named in his honor.

The work begins quite subtly and becomes increasingly dramatic as it progresses. While the latter aggressive section of the work could be perceived as a "call to war," it is a peaceful but nonetheless strong stand against the efforts to remove and ultimately eradicate a proud Cherokee nation.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works