Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Year of Solitary Thinking- in Metal

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Ben Phelps

Ben Phelps

General Info

Year: 2010
Duration: c. 12:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Ben Phelps
Cost: Score and Parts - Contact composer


Full Score
Electric Bass
Prepared Piano
Percussion I-II-III-IV (4 players), including:

  • Bell Plates
  • Brake Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Mixing Bowls
  • Tam-Tam (tiny)
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Like many things in life, the piece is cyclical in nature. One section seems to follow another in predictable fashion, as though you know how it’s going to end before it begins. The end of the piece explores the question of whether musical development is truly achieved -- do we ever learn anything? -- or does it just take longer to get there. And is the end not just another beginning?

- Program Note by composer

Commissioned by the Los Angeles Percussion Quartet.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer