With Malice toward None (Swearingen)

From Wind Repertory Project
James Swearingen

James Swearingen

Subtitle: A Musical Tribute to the Life and Times of Abraham Lincoln

General Info

Year: 2009
Duration: c. 4:55
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $72.00   |   Score Only (print) - $7.00


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I
E-flat Alto Saxophone II/E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This powerful arrangement, for concert band with optional narrator, is a musical tribute to the 16th President of the United States, Abraham Lincoln. Highly informative, the music traces the life and times of this great man who led the fight for freedom during the infamous Civil War. Dramatic excerpts from some of his best-known speeches are included while Battle Hymn of the Republic, Battle Cry of Freedom, Dixie and Aura Lee have been crafted into an emotionally charged expression of musical reverence.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Kentucky Virginia (Whitesburg, Ky.) Summer Winds (Jason Griffith, conductor; Ron Flanary, narrator) - 31 May 2022
  • Allan Hancock College (Santa Maria, Calif.) Community Concert Band (Greg Stoll, conductor; Gary Thompson, narrator) – 12 March 2016
  • University City (Mo.) Summer Band (Tom Poshak, conductor) - 2011

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works