Witches' Sabbath, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Giacomo Puccini

Giacomo Puccini (arr. Johan de Meij)

Subtitle: La Tregenda from 'Le Villi'

General Info

Year: 1892 / 2010
Duration: c. 3:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Amstel Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $105.00   |   Score Only - $33.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium (div.)
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Puccini wrote two movements for a symphonic intermezzo between the two acts of his first opera, Le Villi L'Abbandono (The Desertion) and La Tregenda (The Witches' Sabbath).

- Program Note from publisher

Originally written as a one-act opera, Puccini was asked by the publisher Ricordi to expand it to a full opera. It premiered in Hamburg in 1892 with Gustav Mahler on the podium.

Poet Heinrich Heine wrote this description of the fairy figures called La Villi (The Willis):

“Willis are betrothed maidens who died before their weddings. These poor creatures cannot find rest in their graves. In their dead hearts, in their dead feet, the passion for dancing lives on. A passion that they could not satisfy in their lifetime. A midnight they appear in groups along country lanes. Woe betide the young man that encounters them! He will be forced to dance with them, and he must dance until he drops dead!”

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer