Windward Overture

From Wind Repertory Project
Robert Sheldon

Robert Sheldon

This work bears the designation Opus 202.

General Info

Year: 2016
Duration: c. 2:40
Difficulty: I (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $49.00; (digital) - $49.00   |   Score Only (print) - $7.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This vibrant new concert opener is marked “Allegro moderato.” Following an introductory fanfare, the A theme is played by the trumpets and is immediately repeated with added counterpoint in the flutes and oboes. A more cantabile B theme is introduced by the flutes, clarinets, and tenor saxophones, while a repeat of the A theme features the low brass and low woodwinds, A slower C is played by the flutes and clarinets and then transitions to a rousing coda. This original concert overture is manageable by young musicians, yet it has elements that are relevant to much more challenging literature.

- Program Note from The Instrumentalist


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works