Wind Symphony No. 1

From Wind Repertory Project
Nancy Galbraith

Nancy Galbraith

Subtitle: If Rachael in a Yellow Rose

General Info

Year: 1996
Duration: c. 17:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Subito Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $250.00   |   Score Only (print) - $48.00


1. Allegro – 6:25
2. Andante – 5:06
3. Vivace – 5:20


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet I-II
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Castanets
  • Chimes
  • Claves
  • Glockenspiel
  • Maracas
  • Marimba
  • Sandpaper Blocks
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tom-Toms
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Woodblock
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In three lush and haunting musical landscapes, the composer celebrates all the timbres and voices of the complex, colorful machinery of the contemporary wind orchestra.

Wind Symphony No. 1 was composed for a commission from the Waukesha Area Symphonic Band for a benefit concert which celebrated the 20th anniversary of The Women's Center of Waukesha, Wisconsin.

- Program Note from publisher

Movement I opens with a pulsating figure in the tuba and bass clarinets, which becomes layered with different elements, creating a polyrhythmic texture. The marimba and xylophone introduce a short melodic phrase that builds into a grand climax that closes the opening section. The middle section develops this melodic phrase and introduces a tonal melody in the flutes which is answered by the horns and saxes. Repeated chords in the brass mark the end of the development and the beginning of the recapitulation.

Movement I ends with a piano solo and moves attaca into the second movement. The euphonium presents the melodic theme of Movement II. After the saxophones continue this theme, with the flutes now accompanying, the solo oboe makes a very simple melodic statement which gradually builds into a great climax in the brass. The piano returns, this time accompanying a brass chorale, which fades away closing the second movement.

Movement III opens with a vivacious driving fanfare. After this material recaps, the piece concludes with the fanfare motive played by the trombones accompanied by the snare drum.

- Program Note from composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Colorado State University (Fort Collins) Symphonic Band (T. André Feagin, conductor) – 12 December 2019
  • Waukesha (Wisc.) Area Symphonic Band (Larry Harper, conductor) – 22 April 1997 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer