Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Where the Sky Has No Stars

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Katahj Copley

Katahj Copley

General Info

Year: 2020 / 2021
Duration: c. 16:15
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Murphy Music Press
Cost: Score and Parts (digital) - $400.00   |   Score Only (digital) - $75.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Anvil
  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Jawbone
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Tam-tam
  • Tom-tom
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The most beautiful thoughts are always beside the darkest. When writing this work, I thought of one of the first moments of darkness in my life. The pain and loneliness I felt at the time can never be forgotten for me; to not want to be alive. At that time depression and loneliness were things that haunted me a child, they still do at times. However, through time I learned how to strive to be happy and embrace life no matter what had happened to me.

The beginning of the piece begins with singing bowls and metallic percussion. This is a symbol of meditation and the centering of the soul. From there the first theme is introduced by the flute, followed by a duet with the euphonium. The second theme, the theme of darkness, is introduced by the euphonium as more voices creep in slowly. The listener embarks through the sky of no stars. With each turn, comes more danger and more intrigue.

However, there is a section of joy as the light of life is gleaming in the distance. From there, the glockenspiel introduces the third theme, a theme representing home and happiness. As the piece continues the darkness creeps in until the end with a warm embrace of happiness and life that finds the soul at peace.

The piece ends with a look at the first theme. Now in the major mode the soul is replenished -- it feels different -- and slowly returns home. This is where the sky has no stars.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of West Georgia (Carrollton) Wind Ensemble (Josh Byrd, conductor) - 12 November 2021 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works