Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

West Symphony, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Satoshi Yagisawa

Satoshi Yagisawa

General Info

Year: 2003-2006
Duration: c. 35:00
Difficulty: IV-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Bravo Music
Cost: Score and Parts – Rental ($500.00)


1. The Blue Wolf on the Plateau
2. Wahlstatt
3. The Lost Capitol
4. Sunset Below the Horizon, Flaming Red


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III (I div.)
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Chimes
  • Congas
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong
  • Marimba
  • Shakers
  • Snare Drum
  • Spring Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tom-Toms
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

I have been writing The West Symphony series for the Ichikawa Nishi High School Symphonic Band since 2003 as a four-year project. I had promised some of the students that I would write a new piece for Nishi-High School if they made it to the East-Kanto band competition. I am presenting "The West Symphony" to congratulate them and to express my gratitude for always performing my compositions. Although based on the Eastern world, the title is derived from the name of the school and the fact that Eurasian continent lies to the west of Japan. Before I knew it, it had become my masterpiece, and since Tokyo Kosei Wind Orchestra released a DVD of it, it is now being performed both in Japan and abroad. I am deeply grateful to Mr. Sunao Yoshida and the Ichikawa Nishi High School students for their wonderful performance of this piece, which is always completed just before the performance.

The first movement is called Blue Wolf on the Steppe and was written on the theme symbolizing Genghis Khan. It depicts the suffering of Genghis Khan's life and the way he fought valiantly to win glory, while juxtaposing it with the grandeur of the Mongolian steppes.

Wahlstadt depicts so-called "Battle of Wahlstadt" (Battle of Riegnitz): a battle between the Mongol army led by Batu, the grandson of Genghis Khan – the theme of the first movement – and German and Polish forces. The word "Wahlstadt" means "heap of corpses," referring to the horrific corpses of the German and Polish armies.

The Lost Capital is the phantom city Loulan, said to have once existed deep in Central Asia, and the phantom lake "Lop Nor," whose position and shape constantly fluctuates as it moves from north to south. Since the first and second movements were quite physically demanding, The Lost Capital was designed as a short interlude for the balance of the symphony.

Sunset Below the Horizon, Flaming Red is a large movement that concludes the whole symphony. The idea I wanted to express is "The sun and the earth have watched over all history".

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works