West Highlands Sojourn

From Wind Repertory Project
Robert Sheldon

Robert Sheldon

This work bears the designation Opus 39.

General Info

Year: 1993
Duration: c. 6:35
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C L Barnhouse Company
Cost: Score & Parts - $68.00   |   Score Only - $6.00


1. Stow-on-the-Wold - 1:38
2. Bradford Ballade - 2:50
3. On Derwentwater - 1:40


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
French Horn I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Inspired by this popular composer’s journey through the western hill country of England and Wales, this delightful piece borrows from folk melodies he heard on a river near the Scottish border. The three contrasting sections of the piece make it equally suitable for concert or contest use, and Sheldon’s artful scoring makes this one of the nicest new pieces we have heard.

West Highlands Sojourn was commissioned by the Cobb Middle School Band, Tallahassee, Florida, J. William Miller, director.

- Program Note from publisher

West Highlands Sojourn was inspired by the composer’s travels to the western hill country of England and Wales. The work, in three contrasting movements, is a perfect example of Sheldon’s “real music” for a young band.

The first movement, Stow-on-the-Wold, refers to a rural destination, a market town in Gloucestershire, England. The town is full of stone houses, hotels, shops, and quaint restaurants and tea houses. The music of the first movement is a light, cheerful march.

Bradford Ballade, the second movement, takes us to a borough in Northern England. Bradford, currently a populous area, has an industrial history. The region is now a bustling, metropolitan area, full of shopping and culture, and surrounded by beautiful rolling hillsides and meadows. The lovely, gentle melodies of Bradford Ballade evoke a relaxing, mellow hike through the picturesque countryside.

The third movement, Derwentwater, takes its name from a big lake in northwest England. Derwentwater is a popular vacation destination, with walking trails, swimming, fishing, and boating. Sheldon composed the movement in a brisk 6/8, with several hemiolic interchanges between the brass and the woodwinds.

- Program Note by Nancy Moser for the Joaquin Miller Middle School Advanced Band concert program, 21 February 2015

West Highlands Sojourn was commissioned by the Cobb Middle School Band, Tallahassee, Florida, J. William Miller, director.

- Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

  • Alabama: Class CC
  • Florida: III
  • Georgia: III
  • Iowa: III
  • Louisiana: III
  • Minnesota: MN HS LEAGUE BAND GRADE 3
  • Mississippi: VI-A, V-A,VI-A
  • North Carolina: IV
  • Oklahoma: III-A
  • South Carolina: IV
  • Tennessee: II. Complete
  • Texas: II. (2 contrasting mvts.)
  • Texas: III. Complete
  • Virginia: IV
  • Wisconsin: II. Complete


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Robert Sheldon website Accessed 3 September 2021
  • Sheldon, R. (1993). West Highlands Sojourn [score]. C.L. Barnhouse: Oskaloosa, Iowa.