Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Wang Hesheng

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Wang Hesheng


Wang Hesheng (27 December 1955, Luoyang, China) is a Chinese composer.

In 1985, Hesheng studied composition from Professor Mu Hong in the central Conservatory of Music. He became a professional composer of the Military Band of the People's Liberation Army of China after graduation in 1988.

As a composer of the Military Band of the People's Liberation Army of China, Hesheng also a member of Chinese Musicians Association. Over the last ten years, Wang has created more than 600 instrumental music and vocal music, with wide range of materials and different styles. The latter include solo, ensemble, symphony for symphonic band, and symphonic chorus. He has attached great importance to national characteristic, popularity and sense of the times in his creation. Twenty pieces of his works have been awarded prizes in the country and the army.

Wang's major works are Yuanmingyuan, a symphonic tone poem for symphonic band, Beautiful Evening of Prairie, Dance under the Moonlight (a trumpet solo), Yihai, a symphonic tone-poem for symphonic band, and Plum Blossom a symphonic chorus. He co-created the admission music for the award ceremony of the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games with Tan Dun.

Works for Winds