Voyages (Stephenson)

From Wind Repertory Project
James Stephenson

James Stephenson

Subtitle: Concerto for Brass Ensemble

General Info

Year: 2020
Duration: c. 21:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Stephenson Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $200.00; (digital) - $200.00   |   Score Only (print) - $40.00


Full Score
B-flat Piccolo Trumpet
C Trumpet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Chimes
  • China Cymbals
  • Claves
  • Crash Cymbals (2)
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Hi-Hat
  • Marimba
  • Quad Toms
  • Ride Cymbal
  • Slapstick
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Timbales
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Voyages title has two-fold meaning:

One of my favorite experiences is to go on a trip and to discover new things one otherwise couldn’t have imagined. Like when in London, and every turn down a new street reveals new amazing sights. Or, when buying a house, and the viewing reveals that around each corner is a new really cool room, decorated fantastically, and each holding a new charm.

That’s what I tried to do in this piece. It’s one segment after another, each taking the audience into a new world, where they might totally forget where they’ve just been, but completely enjoy the “room” they’re in. The Voyages title suits that, but also suits another bit of a thread I’m beginning to establish.

My second symphony, for wind ensemble, probably my most important work in that realm – is called Voices. My third symphony, my only one to this point for symphony orchestra, is called Visions. My hope is that with Voyages, the pattern will continue with what I believe to be significant additions to the repertoire of the respective ensemble. I tried to be certain to give every player something important and meaningful to contribute, therefore justifying the “Concerto for brass ensemble” subtitle. I do this in almost every work I write, reflecting my general views on humanity, that we are all equally important and necessary. We’re all in this “Voyage” together.

My most sincere thanks to Mark Tillinger, for commissioning this work, and giving me permission to really “go for it”, and stretch myself within this genre. It is that permission which inspired the creation of this work as it now stands.

- Program Note by composer


None discovered thus far.

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works