Volver a la Montaña

From Wind Repertory Project
Shelley Hanson

Shelley Hanson

This work is the second movement of the suite Islas y Montañas. The title translates from the Spanish as "Return to the mountain."

General Info

Year: 2001
Duration: c. 5:50
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $95.00   |   Score Only (print) - $6.50


Full Score
C Piccolo I-II II optional)
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II (optional)
English Horn (optional)
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Clarinet (optional)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet (optional)
B-flat Bass Clarinet I-II
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
B-flat Cornets I-II (optional)
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Harp (or Synthesizer (optional))

  • Bongo (or bass drum or floor tom)
  • Marimba (optional)
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone(optional)


  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone, m.60: C#, not D#
  • Marimba, m.59, beat 2: b minor chord, not G major

Program Notes

Volver a la Montaña (Return to the Mountain) is the second movement of the four-movement suite and is based on several folk tunes of the Quechua ("Inca") people of Ecuador, Peru, and Bolivia. Near the end of the movement, the folk song Separación (Separation) is quoted briefly. The words are "My mother told me not to cry, though I'm leaving the mountains forever." Over the past century, many of the Quechua people have had to leave their villages forever because of the economic difficulty of trying to maintain their traditional mountain lifestyle.

The movement opens with a stately processional, followed by a fast dance that uses the characteristic Latin American alternation or simultaneous appearance of two- and three-beat patterns. In the return to the processional theme near the end of the movement, muted trumpets echo the flutes, as sound would echo in the mountains.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • Iowa: IV
  • Louisiana: V
  • Mississippi: VI-A
  • Texas: V. Complete


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Illinois (Champaign) Hindsley Symphonic Band (Kimberly Fleming, conductor) - 21 April 2023
  • Southern Adventist University (Chattanooga, Tenn.) Wind Symphony (Ken Parsons, conductor) - 16 April 2023
  • Rutgers University (New Brunswick, N.J.) Symphonic Winds (Todd Nichols, conductor) - 12 December 2021
  • Andrews University (Berrien Springs, Mich.) Wind Symphony (Byron Graves, conductor) - 23 October 2021
  • Westchester (N.Y.) Symphonic Winds (Albert Nguyen, conductor) – 10 November 2019
  • State University of New York, Potsdam, Symphonic Band (Brian K. Doyle, conductor) – 27 February 2019
  • University Of North Carolina, Greensboro, University Band (J. Benjamin Jones, Conductor) – 19 February 2019
  • University of Ottawa (Ont.) Wind Ensemble (Daniel Gress, conductor) – 7 February 2019
  • Tel-Aviv (Israel) University Wind Orchestra (Uri Reisner, Conductor) - 31 January 2019
  • Erie County Wind Ensemble (Eden, N.Y.) (John Maguda, conductor) – 2 May 2018 (ACB 2018 Annual Convention (Buffalo, N.Y.))
  • Indiana University (Bloomington) Symphonic Band (Eric M. Smedley, conductor) – 8 November 2016
  • Los Angeles (Calif.) Symphonic Winds (Stephen Piazza, conductor) – 23 October 2016
  • Austin (Tex.) Symphonic Band (Richard Floyd, conductor) – 3 April 2016
  • Montgomery County Concert Band (Hatfield, Penn.) – 2015
  • Bixby High School (Oklahoma) Wind Ensemble (Jeremy W. Parker, conductor) - May 2013

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Hanson, S. (2003). Volver a la Montaña: From Islas y Montañas [score]. Boosey & Hawkes: New York.