Viva Musica!

From Wind Repertory Project
Alfred Reed

Alfred Reed

General Info

Year: 1983
Duration: c. 4:45
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Edward B. Marks Music Company
Cost: Score and Parts - $95.00   |   Score Only - $7.50


Flute I-II (optional)
Oboes I-II (optional)
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Clarinet
B-flat Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone (optional)
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
B-flat Cornet I-II
Horns in F I-II-III (optional)
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


In parts:

  • E-flat Alto Saxophone, m.82: 1st note should be E, not A
  • E-flat Alto Saxophone, m.84: Add diminuendo sign for 1st and 2nd notes, Add crescendo to quintuplets
  • Cornet I-II, m.71: Add diminuendo
  • Tuba, m.71: Add diminuendo
  • String Bass, m.15, 16: Add the diminuendo to the 15th bar and mf to the 16th bar
  • Percussion III, m.9: Remove Perc III Bells tremolo.

In score:

  • Flute, m.33: Add slurs from the 3rd note to the 1st note of the next measure
  • Baritone, m.70: Change staccato to tenuto
  • Cornet I-II, m.137: Change p to f
  • Percussion I, m.153-154: Remove f in bar 153 of BD, add mp to bar 154

Program Notes

Viva Musica, a concert overture for winds and percussion, is in the form of a single allegro movement. The work begins with one motive out of which the entire work is developed. This motive is contrasted by a playful woodwind and saxophone figure which then leads to a development section that lets the listener hear different harmonizations and different choices of instrumentation. This leads to the main theme of the piece -- a broadly lyrical, yet always rhythmical line in 7/8 and 8/8 time, that will be felt by the listener to be yet another development of the original motive. The piece ends with a final, joyous outburst of the basic motive in a lustrous and affirmative conclusion.

Viva Musica was commissioned by the Vandercook College of Music, Chicago, Illinois. The first performance took place in Chicago at the Mid-West International Band and Orchestra Clinic, on December 16, 1983, with the VanderCook College Symphonic Band under the direction of the composer.

- Program Note by William V. Johnson for the Cuesta Wind Ensemble concert program, 20 May 1995

This work was commissioned by VanderCook College of Music, the first such commission ever extended by this institution, and is, in their words, "dedicated to all who strive for excellence in the noble field of music education."

The first performance took place in Chicago, at the annual Midwest National Band and Orchestra Clinic, on December 16th, 1983, with VanderCook College Symphonic Concert Band under the direction of the composer.

The music is in the form of a single allegro movement which is developed through a variety of textures and harmonic treatments.


State Ratings

  • Tennessee: VI
  • Virginia: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Reed, A. (1984). Viva Musica!: A Concert Overture for Winds [score]. Edward B. Marks Music: [U.S.].