Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Vera Stanojevic

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Vera Stanojevic


Vera Stanojevic (b. Belgrade, Yugoslavia) is a Serbian-American composer and educator.

Dr. Stanojevic studied piano, theory and composition at the Mokranjac School of Music in Belgrade. Here is where her compositional talent was first recognized, and at the age of eighteen Ms. Stanojevic received the most prestigious award of the city of Belgrade, the October Prize, for her early works.

She received her graduate and post-graduate degrees in music composition from the Tchaikovsky Conservatory (Moscow, Russia) and earned the Doctor of Musical Arts degree from The Ohio State University (Columbus).

She has served as professor of theory and composition at Kenyon College (Ohio), at Ball State University (Indiana), at the Capital University Conservatory of Music (Columbus, Ohio) and has been guest professor at the Johannes Gutenberg University in Mainz, Germany.

Vera Stanojevic has won numerous awards for her compositions, including the Individual Excellence Award of the State of Ohio Arts Council, the American Composers Forum Composers' Commissioning Project Grant, the Dale Warland Choral Competition prize, as well as the Vienna Modern Masters Millennium Commissioning Competition prize.

Representative performances of her works include the premiere of Chamber Music (Essen, Germany); Notturno, for orchestra (Czech Republic); Voyages, for piano and fixed media; and Droplets Of Dew for four pianos and fixed media.

Works for Winds