From Wind Repertory Project
Victoriano Valencia Rincón

Victoriano Valencia

Subtitle: From 200, Third Suite for Symphonic Band

General Info

Year: 2010
Duration: c. 6:30
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Ed. Piles
Cost: Score and Parts - €290.00


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute III
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium (Bass Clef & Treble Clef) I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Conga
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Hi-Hat
  • Maracón
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambura
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This work traces the 200-year history of the country of Colombia.

Interdependencia leads us through diverse scenes of the pre-independence period: Nueva Granada, El Florero y Cartagena, Patria Boba, Bolívar, and República, alternating different sides of the two main themes that represent the colonial image (the other) and the national spirit, trying to express the condition of interdependence and inter-existence within the permanent configuration of who we are as a nation and as an individual human being.

In Territorios Norte and Territorios Sur, a contact is being established with sonorous Latin American references, to strengthen the shared characteristics in our region through colonial history, or cultural and social evolution. In such a way we can find the Danzón and other Afro-Cuban music styles in a dialogue with Colombian Caribbean, and the Tango interacting with elements of Andean music systems.

Utopías operates as a synthesis and prospection, in three main segments: Memoria, Encuentro, and Diversidad, which recreates together with the final Coda (Interdependencia) themes of the previous movements.

Alternating modal and tonal contexts with a major liberty, just as textures and techniques of different musical traditions, the rhythmic energy and expressive intentions are the basic motors of the suite, in accordance with these 200 years of collective searching.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Valencia Rincón, V. (2011). 200: Tercera Suite para Banda = Third Suite for Symphonic Band [score]. Piles D.L.: Valencia, Spain.