Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Unknown Journey, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Philip Sparke

Philip Sparke

General Info

Year: 2014
Duration: c. 11:30
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Anglo Music, through Music Shop Europe
Cost: Score and Parts - $265.00   |   Score Only - $38.00


Piccolo I-II
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Clarinet
B-flat Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cabasa
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Splash Cymbal
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Tom-tom (2)
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Block (2)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Unknown Journey was commissioned by Kwansei Gakuin University Symphony Band (Hisaatsu Kondo, conductor) to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the band, as well as the 125th anniversary of Kwansei Gakuin, in 2014. It was premiered on 8th November, 2014 during the institution’s 125th anniversary celebrations.

Kwansei Gakuin is a Japanese private school which dates back to 1889, when it was founded in Kobe by the American missionary, Reverend Walter Russell Lambuth. Established in 1954, Kwansei Gakuin University Symphony Band has grown to become one of the top college bands in Japan and has undertaken international tours to Canada, the USA, Korea, Singapore and Taiwan.

In writing The Unknown Journey, composer Philip Sparke wanted to create a piece which, after a brief introduction, started slowly and gradually and inevitably increased in tempo as new material was introduced. He chose the title as the piece seemed to create its own momentum as it developed; as it reaches its seemingly inevitable conclusion it gradually transmogrifies into the closing bars of Ravel’s La Valse, a piece which unsurpassably characterises the idea of unstoppable momentum.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Perusal score
  • Philip Sparke website Accessed 31 March 2022
  • Sparke, P.; Kansei Gakuin Daigaku (2016). The Unknown Journey: For Concert Band [score]. Anglo Music Press: London, Eng.