Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Tuba Concerto (York)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Barbara York

Barbara York

Subtitle: Wars and Rumors of War

General Info

Year: 2004 / 2008
Duration: c. 11:25
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Tuba and orchestra
Publisher: Cimarron Music Press
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $100.00


1. Allegro marcato
2. Tranquillo
3. Allegro furioso


Full Score
Solo Tuba
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Bass Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


The title on the score wrapper is Concerto, but the title on the first page of the score is Concerto for Tuba and Orchestra, although the instrumentation is for wind ensemble.

Program Notes

This Tuba Concerto was commissioned in 2004 by tubist Michael Fischer and the Boise State University Symphony Orchestra. It was my fourth piece for Dr. Fischer, and is subtitled Wars and Rumors of War. Since I do tend to write “concept pieces”, there is some programmatic content that proceeds through the development of its underlying musical and emotional structure. Contrary to what its subtitle might suggest, this is not intended to be a political statement about war, but is rather intended to be a philosophical and even rather intimate examination of the personal effect that this type of activity has on those who participate in it.

- Program Note by composer

Written for Michael Fischer and the Boise State University Symphony Orchestra, Craig Purdy, conductor, 2004.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • West Chester University (Penn.) Wind Ensemble (Andrew Yozviak, conductor; Jonathan Fowler, tuba) - 30 October 2022

Works for Winds by This Composer