Tuba Concerto (Grantham)

From Wind Repertory Project
Donald Grantham

Donald Grantham

General Info

Year: 2012
Duration: c. 19:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Piquant Press
Cost: Score and Parts - rental   |   Score Only - $50.00


1. Fiery and Bold - 6:30
2. Languid and Expressive - 5:50
3. Boiterous! Tiny Parham in Memoriam - 6:45


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Slap Stick
  • Suspended cymbal
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

My Tuba Concerto — for Tuba Solo, Orchestral Winds, Percussion and Piano — is in three movements. The first movement, marked "Fiery and bold," is a virtuosic workout featuring much interplay between the soloist and percussion, particularly the timpani. The second movement is lyric and expressive. Formally, it is a kind of continuous development as new material is added to older material without ever really replacing it, and all of the elements combine and interact throughout the entire movement.

The third movement is in a much more popular and jazzy vein, and is dedicated to the memory of Tiny Parham, a jazz musician who flourished in Chicago in the 192Os and 193Os, and was a composer whose music and scoring I particularly admire.

- Program note by composer

Donald Grantham’s three movement, twenty-three minute Tuba Concerto was completed in 2012 for solo tuba, orchestral winds, percussion, and piano. The first movement, subtitled Fiery and Bold, features a virtuosic solo tuba voice and frequent musical dialogue between the soloist and percussion section (particularly timpani). The Tuba Concerto was commissioned in 2012 by a consortium of scholastic entities, including the Marcus Wind Symphony. The work was premiered by the University of Texas at Austin Wind Symphony on March 27, 2012, under the baton of Dr. Robert Carnochan and featuring UT faculty soloist Charles Villarrubia on tuba.

- Program note by Rebecca Loshelder for the Marcus High School Wind Symphony concert program, 22 December 2012


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer