Trombone Concerto No. 1

From Wind Repertory Project
Frank Gulino

Frank Gulino

Subtitle: The Journey

General Info

Year: 2019 / 2023
Duration: c. 18:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Trombone and piano
Publisher: Cimarron Music Press
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $150.00


Full Score
Solo Trombone
English Horn
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Like all journeys, this 18-minute trombone sonata from composer Frank Gulino features beautiful moments and challenging ones; statements of confidence and passages of uncertainty. Premiered by Philadelphia Orchestra co-principal trombonist Matthew Vaughn, The Journey offers stunning lyricism and rich harmonic textures that make it broadly appealing to audiences everywhere and ensure that this work will be a staple of the trombone recital repertoire for years to come.

The band version was Commissioned by the U.S. Army Band "Pershing's Own" for the 2023 American Trombone Workshop. The piano version was premiered September 21, 2019, at the Towson University Eastern Trombone Workshop by Matthew Vaughn, trombone, and Sophia Kim Cook, piano.

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned by the U.S. Army Band "Pershing's Own" for the 2023 American Trombone Workshop.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • North Carolina State University (Raleigh) Wind Ensemble (Paul Garcia, conductor; Mark Whitfield, trombone) - 19 April 2023
  • United States Army Band (Ft. Myer, Va.) (Bonnie Alger, conductor; Brad White, trombone) - 11 March 2023 *Wind Band Transcription Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer