Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Triton, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
John Philip Sousa

John Philip Sousa (arr. Robert E Foster)

General Info

Year: 1879 / 1892 / 2009
Duration: c. 2:10
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Violin and piano
Publisher: Wingert-Jones
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $70.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Timpani (optional)
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells (optional)
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The musical revisions and the abundance of titles given to this composition have resulted in music confusion. In spite of all efforts to make it popular, it was a multiple flop.

Included in Evening Pastime, the 1879 collection of solos arranged by Sousa for violin and piano, was a short march by J. Molloy called The Triton. This was published by J. F. Shaw of Philadelphia.

The composition grew from a simple arrangement to a march in 1892 when a second Philadelphia publisher, J. W. Pepper, entered the scene. Sousa added two more melodies to his original arrangement, and the new version was published for band as The Triton Medley March. Whether or not these two additional melodies are Sousa’s is not known.

Pepper published an edition for piano as Triton March in 1896 and then confused the public by publishing the same composition under a different title, Souvenir. Souvenir was distributed free at a music exposition, hence its new title.

The confusion was compounded in 1900 when still another version was published as Paris Exposition March. It was in the first issue of Pepper’s new periodical, the Piano Music Magazine. This version had been altered by an arranger who changed the last two sections from 6/8 to 2/4 rhythm and omitted a da capo repeat.

By this time, Sousa was publishing with a third Philadelphia firm, John Church, who apparently avoided the march. The persistent Pepper was not yet finished, however, for he republished the march for piano as The Triton Two-Step in 1906. After this failed, he capitulated.

- Program Note from Lee University (Cleveland, Tenn.) Wind Ensemble concert program, 17 April 2018


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • San Luis Obispo County (Calif.) Senior Honor Band (Jennifer Martin, conductor) – 13 February 2019
  • Lee University (Cleveland, Tenn.) Wind Ensemble (David Holsinger, conductor) – 17 April 2018
  • W.F. West Wind Ensemble (Chehalis, WA) (Adam Campagna, conductor) - 20 March 2018

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Bierley, P. (1973). John Philip Sousa: A Descriptive Catalog of His Works. University of Illinois Press; Urbana, pp. 74.
  • Sousa, J.; Foster, R. (2009). The Triton [score]. Wingert-Jones: Kansas City, Mo.