Tristan und Isolde

From Wind Repertory Project
Richard Wagner

Richard Wagner (trans. Christiaan Janssen)

Subtitle: Vorspiel und Liebestod

General Info

Year: 1862 / 2015
Duration: c. 17:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Baton Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €175.00   |   Score Only (print) - €46.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Solo Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II-III
Solo A Clarinet I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Solo Tuba
String Bass


Solo Voice


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Many see Wagner's Tristan und Isolde as the beginning of the move away from common practice harmony and tonality, and consider that it lays the groundwork for the direction of classical music in the 20th century. The Prelude and Liebestod is a concert version of the overture and Isolde's Act 3 aria Mild und leise. The arrangement was by Wagner himself, and it was first performed in 1862, several years before the premiere of the complete opera in 1865.

The Liebestod can be performed either in a purely orchestral version, or with a soprano singing Isolde's vision of Tristan resurrected.

- Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Queens College (Flushing, N.Y.) Wind Ensemble (Charles Neidich, conductor) – 14 May 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer