Tribute (Barnes)

From Wind Repertory Project
James Barnes

James Barnes

General Info

Year: 2011
Duration: c. 5:20
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts - $80.00   |   Score Only - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Mark Tree
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tambourine
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Upper level ensembles will enjoy this challenging and rewarding work from this highly regarded composer. Striking brass introduce this impressive work with a resolute introduction, leading to the colorful and energetic "Allegro Vivo" that is the main body of the work. Highlighted with shifting time signatures and flashing technical passages, it is music that will take your breath away.

-Program Note from publisher

Commissioned to commemorate the long and distinguished career of James K. Copenhaver, upon his retirement as Director of Bands at the University of South Carolina.

-Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Purdue University (West Lafayette, Ind.) Concert Band (Jonathan Sweet, conductor) - 23 April 2023
  • Williamsburg Concert Band (Brian Worsdale, conductor) - 26 September 2013

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Barnes, J. (2011). Tribute [score]. Van Nuys, Ca.: Alfred Music Publishing.