Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Trek to the Summit

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
William Harbinson

William Harbinson

General Info

Year: 2019
Duration: c. 4:05
Difficulty: II-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $60.00; (digital) - $60.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
Oboe (optional Flute II)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

A brass fanfare based on angular melodic figures makes for a resonant start of this musical celebration. The fanfare fades into a softer, more lyrical section that features changing textures and shifting harmonies. The opening fanfare then returns with a coda to bring about a resolute finish.

- Program Note from publisher

The opening fanfare section, marked "Maestoso," serves as the principal melodic material for the composition. Set in the Dorian mode, a complementary slower section marked "Andante" is more lyrical and initially features the woodwinds. This section has a brief solo for trumpet. The percussion instruments introduce a "Presto" development section that leads to a return of the opening fanfare gestures and a concluding coda.

- Program Note from The Instrumentalist

Commissioned in honor of Sam Berryhill, Music Educator and Avid Hiker.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • North Carolina: I


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • "New Music Reviews." The Instrumentalist. 75/2 (October/November 2020), 60. Print.
  • Perusal score