Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Zhou Tian

Zhou Tian (arr. Simon Holoweiko and Zhou Tian)

General Info

Year: 2013 / 2021
Duration: c. 13:30
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: First Edition Press
Cost: Score and Parts – Rental   |   Score Only (print) - $95.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
C Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion (4 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotale
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Trace tells a musical story of a disappearing past due to industrialization. From nostalgic melodies to visceral rhythms, the music rises and falls throughout its 13-minute duration, often refreshing the sound palettes by highlighting different players in the ensemble. There is great contrast in the music, as if looking at a shining new city through century-old memories.

The piece opens with a burst of energy: the spirited flute solo is mixed with colorful harmony. An arioso follows. It is simple and melodic, with frequent, parallel key changes – as if bending time. The music slowly grows larger in orchestration and eventually reaches a full soundscape with increasingly expansive melody line and harmony.

A second arioso appears. Still and chorale-like, it is first supported by plush clarinets and then darkens dramatically with a cadenza-like saxophone solo. Rugged brass chords and rapid woodwind patterns ignite a bright and fast toccata. Based on a folky motif, the toccata highlights different players in the ensemble (solos, pairs, trios and entire sections), reuniting traces of previously heard materials. After reaching a climactic point, the piece closes with an airy coda, which grows more and more distant measure by measure, until it vanishes with a sigh.

“Trace” was originally commissioned and premiered by the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra. My sincere appreciation goes to Simon Holoweiko, who initiated this project with an excellent transcription. I made further arrangements and composed new materials for the current version.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Oklahoma State University (Stillwater) Wind Ensemble (Douglas Henderson, conductor) - 18 November 2021
  • Michigan State University (East Lansing) Wind Symphony (Kevin Sedatole, conductor) - 24 September 2021 *Premiere Wind Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer