Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Time into Music

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Yasuhide Ito

Yasuhide Ito

The title is written Time-into-Music

General Info

Year: 2018
Duration: c. 5:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Bravo Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $150.00   |   Score Only (print) - $20.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III (I div.)
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet (3 players)
B-flat Trumpet (3 players)
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Castanets
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This work was composed to celebrate the 80th birthday of Mr. Timothy Reynish. The age of 80 reminded me of Verdi who was still in his musical enthusiasm at that age and wrote his last opera, Falstaff. Well, there was an association in my mind of the stout title role with Tim. It was my intention to celebrate the occasion with this little lucid (like the opera) piece in C major.

The eighth-note phrases at the beginning get longer as they are repeated. It is to mimic the form of a verse by Emperor Yuryaku in Manyoshu, an 8th century anthology of Japanese poetry: Komoyo, Mikomochi, Fukushimoyo, Miukushimochi. In the verse, syllables are added one by one, in a manner that is said to symbolize auspice and bliss.

Quoted in the middle is the beginning of the fugue at the closing of Falstaff: "Tutto nel mondo e burla" (All the world is a joke). The title implies musical moments. This little piece is filled with gentle melodies and is slightly less than five minutes in duration. You may notice the name "Tim" hidden in the title.

- Program Note by composer

Tim san, 80 sai omedeto!

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Philharmonic Winds (Singapore) (Timothy Reynish, conductor) – 17 June 2018 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer