Through the Icy Dawn

From Wind Repertory Project
Michael Mikulka

Michael Mikulka

General Info

Year: 2010
Duration: c. 5:09
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Michael Mikulka
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $150.00; (digital) - $60.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium (Bass Clef, Treble Clef)
Percussion I-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Through the Icy Dawn depicts a cold winter morning on the East Coast. It is an ode to a type of wind band sound that was frequently present in the music of Persichetti and Reed, but unfortunately has been hard to find in recent compositions.

-' 'Program Note by composer


  • Frank Ticheli Composition Contest, 2013, finalist
  • Waterloo Wind Band Call for Scores, 2014, winner


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Waterloo Wind Band (Austin, Tx.) (Michael Mikulka, conductor) - 18 May 2014

Works for Winds by This Composer