Threnody (Barnes)

From Wind Repertory Project
James Barnes

James Barnes

Subtitle: Klagelied

This work bears the designation Opus 145.

General Info

Year: 2015
Duration: c. 8:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Rundel
Cost: Score and Parts - $80.00


Full Score
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Chimes/Glockenspiel
  • Metal Wind Chimes (Mark Tree)
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

I wrote Threnody in memory of an old friend of mine, saxophonist Thomas Liley. We knew each other since high school. We were in university together and even played in the same dance band. He later played in the U.S. Navy Band for four years. As I understand it, he collapsed while teaching a lesson and died soon after. I think it was a stroke. The ascending saxophone at the conclusion of the piece is intended to describe Tom’s rise into “Himmel”.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Barnes, J. (2015). Threnody op. 145: Blasorchester, Concert Band, Harmonie = Klagelied [score]. Rundel: Rot an der Rot.
  • Perusal score