Three Scottish Vistas

From Wind Repertory Project
William Owens

William Owens

General Info

Year: 2007
Duration: c. 4:15
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: FJH Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $85.00   |   Score Only - $13.00


1. The Proud People - 1:11
2. The South of Skye - 2:07
3. Glasgow, the West End - 1:51


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
Bb Trumpet/Cornet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marching Bass Drum
  • Marching Snare Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tenor Drum
  • Triangle
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Commissioned by the California Band Directors Association for the 2007 California All-State Middle School Honors Band

-Program Note by score

This short three-movement work paints a picture of one of the most beautiful and historically rich countries in the world. The first movement, This Proud People, quotes bits of Scotland the Brave, the unofficial anthem of Scotland, before introducing the sounds of a traditional pipe and drum band. The second movement, The South of Skye, pays tribute to countless quiet sandy beaches and small islands. The final movement,Glasgow, the West End, salutes this culturally rich area with a wild fiery jig that continues to accelerate to a powerful conclusion.

-Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • Michigan: Senior High C
  • Michigan: Junior High AA


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Owens, W. (2007). Three Scottish Vistas [score]. FJH Music: Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
  • William Owens website Accessed 29 August 2021