Three Preludes

From Wind Repertory Project
Anton Bruckner

Anton Bruckner (arr. Timothy Broege)

Subtitle: In memory of John P. Paynter

General Info

Year: 1836 / 1996
Duration: c. 6:15
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Organ
Publisher: Daehn Publications, through C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $72.00   |   Score Only (print) - $6.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Gong (large)
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

These three lovely pieces were originally composed by Anton Bruckner in 1836 for the organ. Best known for his symphonies and choral works, Bruckner also composed a small amount of organ music, which, although much small in scale than the symphonies or the masses, nevertheless contains many of the stylistic traits of his mature works. The music of Anton Bruckner is deeply spiritual, achieving a transcendent expressive power through the simplest of technical means.

The organ pieces adapt quite readily to the symphonic band idiom; no transpositions have been necessary nor has any recomposition of the original material been required. The scoring is designed to evoke the typical Bruckner symphonic sound, with a special emphasis on horns and low brass.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Florida: I
  • Louisiana: II
  • Louisiana: III
  • Louisiana: IV
  • Texas: II. (Play one)
  • Texas: III. Complete
  • Texas: IV. Complete


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer