Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Three Colonial Moments

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Rick Kirby

Rick Kirby

General Info

Year: 2014
Duration: c. 8:00
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Hal Leonard

Cost: Score and Parts - $65.00   |   Score Only - $10.00


1. The Phantom Drummer
2. The Lady's Lament
3. Virginia Two-Step


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This three movement suite is ideal for concert or festival performances. In the usual fast-slow-fast format, the movements are titled The Phantom Drummer, A Lady's Lament and Virginia Two-step.

-Program Note by composer

Depicting three contrasting and intriguing settings from early American lore, Rick Kirby masterfully brings these images to life in a suite for band. The first movement tells the legend of The Phantom Drummer with unique orchestrational effects. The second movement, The Lady's Lament, mourns the loss of loved ones in the Revolutionary War, and the suite concludes with the lively dance Virginia Two-Step. Rich in stylistic and tonal variety, this is an appealing work for concert or festival use.

-Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer