Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Three Celtic Dances

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Brian Balmages

Brian Balmages

General Info

Year: 2008
Duration: c. 7:20
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: FJH Music Company
Cost: Score and Parts - $95.00   |   Score Only - $15.00


1. Reel – 1:27
2. Air – 2:50
3. Jig – 3:00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III (I div. a2)
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Marimba
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Based on three different Scottish dance forms, this work explores a wide variety of Celtic styles using authentic and original material. Lively and spirited, Movement 1, Reel, is based on the tune The Last Pint of Ale. Well May I Behold My Faithful Brown-Hair'd Maid is the basis for the second movement, Air. It is presented as a slow, lyrical melody. The final movement, Jig, is loosely based on the tune Highlander's Jig and uses the most recognized Celtic dance form. The piece may be performed as a whole, but each movement stands on its own if played individually. An excellent selection for concert or contest.

-Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Balmages, B. (2008). Three Celtic Dances [score]. FJH Music: Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
  • Brian Balmages website Accessed 15 September 2020