Three American Hymns

From Wind Repertory Project
Luigi Zaninelli

Traditional, adapted and arranged by Luigi Zaninelli

Subtitle: For Soprano and Wind Ensemble

General Info

Year: 2014
Duration: c. 9:20
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C Alan / McClaren Productions
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $80.00   |   Score Only (print) - $20.00


1. His Eye Is on the Sparrow – 3:45
2. Amazing Grace – 2:40
3. Shall We Gather at the River – 3:10


Full Score
C Piccolo
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Piano or Harp
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Upon my arrival in the South in 1971, I became aware of and enamored with these three hymns. I had done previous settings for voice and piano and subsequently for soprano solo and wind orchestra. With the passing of time, I felt the need to revisit my arrangements of these beloved texts. I refined them harmonically, re-orchestrated them, and readdressed the soprano solo part. Each of them is very special to me and their emotional power continues to beguile me.

- Program Note by composer


  • Mississippi Arts and Letters Award, 2000


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works