Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Thérèse Brenet

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Thérèse Brenet


Thérèse Brenet (b. 22 October 1935, Paris, France) is a French composer and educator.

She studied at the Conservatoire de Reims and since 1954 the Conservatoire de Paris. Among her teachers were Maurice Duruflé, Henri Dutilleux, Darius Milhaud. and Jean Rivier. In 1965 she won the Prix de Rome for her Les Visions prophétiques de Cassandre, a prize which enabled her to pursue further studies at the French Academy in Rome. She went on to win the Halphen Prize for fugue and composition and won the Coplay Foundation of Chicago's composition prize.

She followed a career as composer and teacher of musical training at the Paris Conservatory.

Thérèse Brenet composes for all kinds of groupings (Clamavit for reciter, soprano, chorus and orchestra, commissioned by the ORTF, 1965; Six pièces brèves for orchestra, 1966; Sidérales for orchestra, commissioned by the French State, 1970; Hapax for orchestra, state commission, 1977), with a predilection for chamber music (Cristaux for mandoline and Celtic harp, 1982; Vision flamboyante for violin and piano, 1987). She makes use of personal atonal material, uses quarter-tones, aleatory sequences and multiple sounds on wind instruments. She finds inspiration in nature, the universe as well as in literary references (Lautréamont, Aeschylus, Pierre-Jean Jouve, the Bible, etc.).

She is also an honorary member of the National Academy of History in Reims.

Works for Winds