Tanz-Walzer für Orchester

From Wind Repertory Project
Ferruccio Busoni

Ferruccio Busoni (trans. Jacco Nefs)

Subtitle: Dem Andenken Johann Strauss
This work bears the designation Opus 53.

General Info

Year: 1920 / 1922 / 2020
Duration: c. 12:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Symphony
Publisher: Jacco Nefs
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $185.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Solo Flute I-II
Flute Tutti
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Solo Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Busoni wrote his Tanz-Walzer in 1920 and it's a homage to Johann Strauss, although it's not clear which one: senior or junior. The harmonies are very uncharacteristic and full of surprises. Busoni wrote some very challenging works for orchestra – but also very stimulating. It’s a pity this music is not performed more often. - Program Note from Jacco Nefs


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Progetto Musica (Italy) (Andrea Loss, conductor) - 2021

Works for Winds by This Composer