T-Bone Concerto

From Wind Repertory Project
Johan de Meij

Johan de Meij

N.B. Not to be confused with Two-Bone Concerto for two trombones.

General Info

Year: 1996
Duration: c. 25:00
Difficulty: VI (solo) / V (ensemble) (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Amstel Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $418.00   |   Score Only (print) - $93.00


1. Rare – 10:10
2. Medium – 8:30
3. Well Done – 6:20


Full Score
Solo Trombone
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The T-Bone Concerto is my very first composition for solo instrument and symphonic band. It consists of three movements called respectively Rare, Medium and Well Done. This work was commissioned by The Kentucky Music Educators Association [KMEA] and was written between August 1995 and January 1996. The first movement was given at the annual KMEA-conference in Louisville, Kentucky (February 1996), Jeffrey Thomas being the soloist. The world premiere of the complete work was performed by Jacques Mauger and the Band of the Royal Dutch Marines, conducted by Maurice Hamers, at the Concertgebouw Amsterdam on March 1st, 1996.

In addition to the solo trombone, an important role has been allotted to a kind of chamber music ensemble within the band. This group introduces now and then new thematic material and accompanies the soloist, thus creating a nice transparent accompaniment. The ensemble consists of a double wind quintet (2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 french horns and 2 bassoons) plus an English horn and a double bass. Parts I and II are written in the A-B-A form and allow the soloist to display both the technical and the lyrical characteristics of the instrument. Part III at first develops into a kind of neo-baroque style using the thematic material of the first and second movement, and finally leads to a triumphant finale and a virtuoso conclusion.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer