Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Symphony No 2 (Whitwell)

From Wind Repertory Project
(Redirected from Symphony no 2(Whitwell))
Jump to navigation Jump to search
David Whitwell

David Whitwell

Subtitle: Sinfonia da requiem

General Info

Year: 1988
Duration: c. 31:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Maxime's Music
Cost: Score and Parts (PDF) - Aus$120.00   |   Score Only (PDF) - Aus$45.00


1. Requiem Aeternum [Rest Eternal]
2. Tuba Mirum [The Trumpet Shall Sound]
3. Dies Irae [Day of Judgment]
4. Lacrymosa
5. Libera me [Deliver me]


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Tam-Tam


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This symphony was written after a period of some weeks when my thoughts were centered on the death of Mozart. The symphony might be considered a requiem for a man who never had one.

- Program Note by composer

Whitwell wrote Sinfonia da Requiem as a requiem for Mozart. Whitwell lived in Vienna briefly, and discovered several years after leaving that city that he had lived in the same building on the same floor as Mozart had when he died.

- Program Note from The Wind Band Symphony Archive


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • California State University, Northridge, Wind Ensemble (Lawrence Stoffel, conductor) – 3 May 2018

Works for Winds by This Composer