Symphony in B-Flat

From Wind Repertory Project
Paul Fauchet

Paul Fauchet (arr. James R. Gillette and Campbell-Watson)

General Info

Year: 1926 / 1949
Duration: c. 30:15
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: M. Witmark
Cost: Score and Parts - Out of print

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


1. Overture - 9:08
2. Nocturne - 6:22
3. Scherzo - 6:02
4. Finale - 5:19


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II (II doubling English Horn)
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Bass Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III-IV
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
E-flat Horn I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Crash Cymbals


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Fauchet's Symphony in B-Flat was given its first performance by the French National Guard Band in 1926. In 1933 it was performed in America by the Carleton College Symphony Band conducted by James Gillette. Since then it has been rescored for American band instrumentation by Gillette and Frank Campbell Watson and published in an American edition.

Fauchet's symphony is not strictly a symphony, but more properly a suite of four movements (Overture, Nocturne, Scherzo, and Finale) symphonically related in progression. The music itself is fresh, buoyant, and richly melodic with well-defined texture and harmonic interest. It is one of the most significant earlier works composed directly for the concert band.

- Program Note by Mark Hindsley from Program Notes for Band and Band Music Notes


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • California State University Long Beach, Bob Cole Conservatory Wind Symphony (John Carnahan, Conductor) - 28 April 2022
  • The Ohio State University Symphonic Band (Scott A. Jones, conductor) - 18 December 2014
  • Volusia All County (Fla.) High School Band - January 2014
  • Parkland College (Champaign, Ill.) Concert Band (Larry Stoner, conductor) (Finale) - 3 March 2013

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Fauchet, P. Campbell-Watson, F. (1948). Symphony in B Flat [score]. M. Witmark & Sons: New York.
  • Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music. "Paul Fauchet." Accessed 1 January 2015
  • Miles, Richard B. 2000. Teaching Music Through Performance in Band. Volume 3. Chicago: GIA Publications. pp. 548-556.
  • Smith, Norman and Albert Stoutamire (1979). Band Music Notes. Rev. ed. San Diego: Kjos West. p. 70
  • Smith, Norman E. (2002). Program Notes for Band. Chicago: GIA Publications, pp. 202.