Symphony for Winds (Ellerby)

From Wind Repertory Project
Martin Ellerby

Martin Ellerby

This work bear the designation Symphony No. 2.

General Info

Year: 1999
Duration: c. 19:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Studio Music
Cost: Parts (print) - £120.00   |   Score Only (print) - £40.00


1. Tribute - 5:13
2. Chorale - 7:33
3. Display - 3:38


Full Score
Flute I-II-III-IV (I and II doubling Piccolo)
Oboe I-II (II doubling English Horn)
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV-V-VI (VI doubling E-flat Alto Clarinet)
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Piano and Celesta
Percussion I-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Cowbell
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Glockenspiel
  • Slapstick
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Tenor Drum
  • Tom-tom (4)
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The work is cast in three movements, exploiting the wide range of colours and dynamics available within the contemporary wind ensemble. The employment of much percussion and additional use of piano, harp and celesta provides even further riches of timbre.

Tribute: Two highly contrasting moods, one rhythmic and aggressive, the other calm and relaxed; yet both in the same tempo, compete with each other to dominate the opening movement. The first subject is always in search of a theme, realized at the conclusion, whereas the second always has one, but extends and develops i ton each reappearance.

Chorale: A series of chorales in a simple, direct idiom provides an aura of calm between the outer, more aggressive movements. Instrumental colour, soft dynamics and much use of tuned percussion and celesta are paramount.

Display: The finale is a highly charged, dynamic scherzo contrasting tuttis with more subtle combinations of solo instruments. Based on the principles of scales and arpeggios, though adapted, melody is always endeavouring to be part of the chase. This is rather like a miniature “concerto for orchestra”.

Symphony for Winds was commissioned by Kent Youth Wind Orchestra (Music Director: Alan Hutt) and Bromley Youth Concert Band (Music Director: Peter Mawson) with funds provided by South East Arts, KYWO, BYCB and BASBWE.

- Program Note by World Association of Symphonic Bands and Ensembles (WASBE)



State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer