Symphony for Wind Ensemble

From Wind Repertory Project
Tyler Harrison

Tyler Harrison

General Info

Year: 2017
Difficulty: V+ (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Tyler Harrison Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $800.00; (digital) - $600.00   |   Score Only (print) - $150.00; (digital) - $100.00


1. The Mountains of Montana - 8:10

a. The Sunrise
b. A Winter Storm
c. The Birds
d. The River Stream
e. Nightfall
f. The Storm
g. The Sunset

2. Lullaby - 9:55

a. Darkly Dreaming
b. Dreaming
c. Caroline's Lullaby
d. Darkly Dreaming
e. The Nightmare
f. Darkly Dreaming

3. My Friends, My Family - 13:15

a. Thankful
b. Memories
c. The Storm
d. At Peace


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Military Drum
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes, metal
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

I began the composition of my first symphony at a very low point in my life. As a result, I set out to compose a work about the things and people that bring the utmost joy to me. The first movement, The Mountains of Montana, is a musical portrait of my adopted home, Western Montana. The themes represent a sunrise, a winter storm, the sound of birds, a river stream, and the closing sunset over the mountains.

The second movement is composed using a lullaby I wrote for my niece, Caroline. The movement is dark and tumultuous, and portrays the struggle I was experiencing at the conception of my symphony. In the midst of this darkness is the lullaby. It reminds me of Caroline, how much joy she brings to my family, and how she is always there to brighten my days.

The third and final movement is a tribute to my friends and family. The movement is composed with the recurring “Friendship Theme,” which is first stated in the low brass chorale in the introduction of the movement. It develops and recurs with the themes from the previous movements. The theme is present throughout, much like my friends. It makes me remember that no matter where I am and where I go, my friends and family are always with me. I am fortunate to have these people in my life, and I thank them.

- Program Note by composer

For David Maslanka.

- Program Note from score


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer