Symphony XX (Hovhaness)

From Wind Repertory Project
Alan Hovhaness

Alan Hovhaness

General Info

Year: 1969
Duration: c. 27:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: CF Peters
Cost: Score and Parts - Rental   |   Study Score - $13.25


Full Score
English Horn
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinets I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornets/Trumpets
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion (4 players) including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes (large)
  • Tam-Tam (giant)
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Symphony No. 20 was composed for the Ithaca High School Concert Band. The first movement is in the spirit of Armenian religious music in three great melodic arcs, the last having the mood of a spiritual. The second movement is a long melodic line completed non-harmonically and unisonally over held drones in Oriental style. The third movement is in the form of a chorale and fugue; at the climax of the fugue, the chorale theme returns interspersed with many-voiced canon interludes.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Quad City Wind Ensemble (Davenport, Iowa) (Nicholas Enz, conductor) - 22 October 2023
  • Dartmouth College (Hanover, N.H.) Wind Ensemble (Brian E. Messier, conductor) - 19 February 2022
  • University of Wisconsin-Parkside Wind Ensemble (Laura Rexroth, conductor) – 18 October 2018
  • Lynn Conservatory of Music (Boca Raton, Fla.) Wind Ensemble (Kenneth Amis, conductor) – 13 September 2014
  • San Luis Obispo (Calif.) Wind Orchestra (Randy Brion, conductor) - 4 March 2006

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Hovhaness, A. (1969). Symphony no. 20 [full score]. CF Peters, New York.