Symphony VI (Boysen)

From Wind Repertory Project
Andrew Boysen, Jr.

Andrew Boysen, Jr.

General Info

Year: 2012
Duration: c. 33:11
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Andrew Boysen Jr.
Cost: Score and Parts - $400.00   |   Score Only - $100.00


1. - 7:47
1. Interlude - 3:24
2. - 3:15
2. Interlude - 1:53
3. - 9:38
3. Interlude - 00:55
4. - 6:18


Full Score (Concert Pitch)
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II (II doubles Contrabassoon)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
String Bass
Piano (doubles harpsichord or synth)
Percussion I:

  • Timpani
  • Bamboo Wind Chimes
  • Medium Suspended Cymbal
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Celeste

Percussion II:

  • Small Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraslap
  • Slapstick
  • Bongos
  • Crotales
  • Marimba
  • Xylophone

Percussion III:

  • Tam-tam
  • Medium Suspended Cymbal
  • Small Suspended Cymbal
  • Woodblock
  • 3 Triangles
  • Concert Toms
  • Chimes
  • Vibraphone

Percussion IV:

  • Thunder Drum
  • Sizzle Cymbal
  • Sand Blocks
  • Mark Tree
  • Claves
  • Tambourine
  • Brake Drum
  • Ratchet
  • Orchestra Bells

Percussion V:

  • Log Drum
  • Medium Suspended Cymbal
  • Bass Drum
  • Piccolo Snare Drum
  • Almglocken (C6 to F7)


  • Oboe II, m.394-401: Are missing from the parts (present in the score)
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet I, m.450: Is marked "dim." Should be marked "cresc."
  • B-flat Trumpet I, m.926: Should tie to a dotted half note in 927 (concert C)
  • B-flat Trumpet II, m.926: Should tie to a dotted half note in 927 (concert C)
  • Trombone III, m.381: Beat 2 should have an accent.
  • Trombone IV, m.381: Beat 2 should have an accent.
  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone, m.941: Should have a diminuendo
  • Piano, m.654-657: 8va applies only to the octave Eb's in measures 654 and 657. Measures 655-666 are loco
  • Percussion I, m.239: In 4/4 time.
  • Percussion II, m.239: In 4/4 time
  • Percussion II, m.316: Is to be played on marimba (not labeled)
  • Percussion III, m.239: In 4/4 time.
  • Percussion IV, m.239: In 4/4 time.
  • Percussion V, m.73: Suspended cymbal (notated on wrong line)

Program Notes

Commissioned by Andrew Mast and the Lawrence Conservatory Wind Ensemble.

-Program Note from score

I have known Andy Mast since I entered the University of Iowa as a freshman music major in 1987. Since then, Andy has become one of my closest friends. He is a fantastic musician, a gifted conductor, a wonderful father, and, to put it very simply, a great person. It is truly an honor to know him. And it is an even greater honor to be asked to write music for him on two occasions. The first resulted in my Grant The Eternal Rest, a piece which was extraordinarily personal for me, and would not have been possible without Andy's faith in my ideas. When Andy asked me to write a piece for the Lawrence University Wind Ensemble, I knew that he trusted me and I had leeway to write whatever I wanted without expectation or pressure of any sort.

When we first discussed the piece, Andy suggested the idea of a concerto for wind ensemble, something that would feature all of the sections of the Lawrence University Wind Ensemble. Although I ended up writing a symphony, I tried to keep the initial concept in mind, writing a piece in which (hopefully) almost all of the members of the ensemble are featured at some point.

The symphony is presented in one continuous structure that includes the traditional four movements of a symphony, connected by three transition sections. The musical materials for the entire work are all based on an artificial scale, initially presented in the first movement as C, Db, Eb, F, G, A, Bb, C. A second theme used throughout the symphony is a descending (and slightly altered) version of the artificial scale initially presented as C, Bb, A, G, Db, Eb, F, C. The tune is also presented at a "macro" level as the tonal center for each of the seven sections of the symphony (four movements and three transitions). Additionally, each time the tonal center shifts, it is treated as a mode change rather than as key change, allowing each of the sections of the symphony to have its own character. The form of each of the four individual movements is always the same (ABABA) and the intervening transition sections all feature the percussion section in combination with a wind soloist in the ensemble.

Despite all of the structural relationships described above, the symphony is really about transformation and emergence from darkness into light. The opening notes of the introduction begin mysteriously at the very bottom of the ensemble in the contrabassoon and ascend in a sort of primal scream, eventually leading into a threatening, angry and aggressive first movement. After a transition featuring the trombone, the aggressiveness gives way to a second movement scherzo that is more sarcastic: still angry but with an edgy humor to it. The second transition section features the alto saxophone over pulsating drums, eventually tapering into the third movement, which really represents the moment of metamorphosis, with the emergence of a melody of hope and love that is initially presented by a lengthy horn solo. The third transition section follows, featuring the flute in a variation on the first transition section. The final movement is triumphant, but not in an overly happy way; it is a triumph of strength and celebration that brings the symphony to a powerful close.

-Program Note by composer

Commercial Discography

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of South Florida (Tampa) Wind Ensemble (John Carmichael, conductor) – 14 November 2017
  • Mission Peak Wind Symphony (Fremont, Calif.) (Andrew Boysen, Jr., conductor) - 28 May 2017
  • Lawrence University (Appleton, Wisc.) Wind Ensemble (Andrew Mast, conductor) – 20 May 2017
  • Pacific Symphonic Wind Ensemble (Vancouver, B.C.) (David Brantner, conductor) – 15 July 2015– WASBE Conference, San Jose, Calif.

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.