Symphony I (Reineke)

From Wind Repertory Project
(Redirected from Symphony No 1 (Reineke))
Steven Reineke

Steven Reineke

Subtitle: New Day Rising

General Info

Year: 2007
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C.L.Barnhouse

Each of the four movements of this work is published and sold separately, which see.


1. City of Gold – 8:28
2. Nocturne – 6:37
3. And the Earth Trembled – 9:32
4. New Day Rising – 7:32


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III (I requires glass crystals)
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Brake Drum
  • Bell Tree
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Field Drum
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong (or Tam-tam)
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Timbales
  • Tom-Toms (2 Players I (4 drums) II (2 drums)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Water Gong


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In 2005, I had the distinct pleasure of spending several months writing my first symphony. I am forever in debt to Duane Carroll and the Contra Costa Wind Symphony for asking me to undertake such a daunting task. Symphony No. 1, "New Day Rising" was written to commemorate the centennial of the great 1906 earthquake in San Francisco, and I was fortunate enough to conduct the premiere of the piece on April 18, 2006, in that beautiful city, exactly 100 years to the day.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Reineke, S. (2007). Symphony No. 1: New Day Rising [score]. C.L. Barnhouse: Oskaloosa, Iowa.