Symphony No. 3 for Wind Ensemble (Mikulka)

From Wind Repertory Project
Michael Mikulka

Michael Mikulka

General Info

Year: 2015 / 2020
Duration: c. 35:00
Difficulty: Grade VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Michael Mikulka
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $500.00; (digital) - $150.00


1. Alternating Between Sturdy and Fluttering
2. Constrained - Mournful
3. Lightly Warm, Patient, With Quiet Joy – With Unbridled Energy
4. Meditative – Determined


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Clarinet I-II-III
Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophones I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpets I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Conga
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Quad Toms
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tenor Drum
  • Triangles (2)
  • Vibraphone
  • Wooden Plank


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Symphony #3 was composed between September 2014 and February 2015 in Austin, Texas, as my doctoral dissertation composition. One of the main intentions of this symphony is that extremes (particularly of dynamics and tempo) must be earned: that there must be strong emotional or narrative content underlying each surface element of the piece.

It was revised in 2019 in anticipation of its premiere performance, on February 8, 2020. The overarching idea of the symphony explores the relationship between the two opening motives: the FGCF quartal block chords and the fluttering concert A texture. They are initially presented in a way thAT makes them seem like opposites, but as the symphony progresses, it becomes clear that they are part of the same element, destined to unify.

- Program Note by Composer



To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Current and Former University of Texas Students (Michael Mikulka, conductor) – 8 February 2020

Works for Winds by This Composer