Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Symphony No. 2 (Bologne)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges

Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges (arr. Daniel Bukin)

Subtitle: I. Allegro Presto

General Info

Year: c. 1779 / 2020
Duration: c. 3:45
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Daniel Bukin
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $17.00

Instrumentation (Flexible)

Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Percussion, including:

  • Glockenspiel
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Allegro Presto movement is taken from Bologne's Symphony Op. XI No. 2 in D, published in 1779.

Performance Notes

  • Octave placement may be adjusted as needed. In fact, many parts include optional 8va or 8vb depending on the instrument.
  • All repeats are optional.
  • Tempo markings are rough guidelines and don’t necessarily need to be adhered to strictly. Use whatever tempo is an appropriate balance for both the piece and your students.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works