Symphony No. 1 in C (Gorb)

From Wind Repertory Project
Adam Gorb

Adam Gorb

General Info

Year: 2000
Duration: c. 16:00
Difficulty: VII (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Maecenas Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $88.00   |   Score Only (print) - $42.00


1. Allegro molto – 3:50
2. Andante Cantabile – 3:55
3. Allegro molto e vivace – 4:05
4. Allegro molto e vivace – 4:55


Full Score
Flute I-II (II doubling C Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
Bassoon I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
String Bass


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Symphony No. 1 in C was commissioned by Tom Hill and premiered by the Royal Northern College of Music Wind Ensemble, Timothy Reynish conductor, on June 10, 2000 at a private party. The composer (2000) wrote:

For most composers the prospect of writing their first symphony is a daunting one. The thought of conceiving a large-scale work following the example of one of the great traditions in western music offers a challenge that many put off indefinitely, and others never attempt. I have ignored this colossal weight of expectancy and written a party piece, which, I think is appropriate as it was written for a fortieth birthday party. The mood is light and effervescent, appropriate for an accompaniment to champagne and strawberries on a summer evening. The structural and thematic model of the piece is that of a very famous Symphony no. 1 in C by a certain L. Van Beethoven. Towards the end of the fourth and final movement of this fifteen-minute work there are quotations from other famous symphonies in C.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Florida State University Chamber Winds (Jason S. Ladd, conductor) – 10 November 2008

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Gorb, A (2000). Symphony No. 1 in C [full score]. Maecenas Music, Kenley, UK.
  • Perusal score